Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How do you learn to use tools properly if you have been self taught

Vanditto
Just Starting Out

How do you learn to use tools properly if you have been self taught

Hi All.  Looking forward to being part of this group.  I am 60 years old and a self taught handyman (being an office worker all my life).

Is there a video forum showing the correct way to use tools, especially electric tools.  I also recently bought a hand planer at a local garage sale and there is a screw adjustment on the back which I have no idea about.

TheSaltyreefer
Becoming a Leader

Re: How do you learn to use tools properly if you have been self taught

hi there

plenty of info online, Bunnings has some great DIY videos for you to peruse, you tube is awesome as well, the screw on the planer will be the blade adjustment to get it to the depth you want

Ozwelder
Just Starting Out

Hi Vanditto

Without seeing the plane, I would say it is the height adjustment.

Rather than move/adjust the fixed position spinning blade assembly this hand screw is normally designed to move a block, separate from the main body.

By moving the block up or down as required the depth of  planing cut into the timber can be controlled.

When using the plane please let the spinning blades come to a stop before setting the plane down.

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @Vanditto,

Welcome to Workshop. Great to see you have already received a couple of helpful replies. As you can see, our members are extremely helpful and generous when it comes to sharing their knowledge and experience. 

Can you please be a little more specific about what tools you'd like to learn about? We are more than happy to provide links to helpful videos if you could please let us know what projects you'd like to tackle and what tools you need to use.