Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Cubby house base ideas?

SxcMnx
Cultivating a Following

Cubby house base ideas?

Cubby.jpgHi everyone, newbie here! I'm wanting to install a Cubby House with an adjacent carport on an uneven grassed area & trying to figure out what the best option would be for the base? Hubby & I obviously have different opinions, and neither of us really have the experience so need plenty of advice. I don't know the correct "terms" for everything, so hopefully you can decipher what I mean. I've already read alot of member posts on here to try & get even a basic understanding. I've attached photos to help explain & what we're trying to achieve.

Hubby wants to put it on top of some conjoined-pallet-type structure & sit it directly on the ground. I'm wanting to build a low-level deck on small footings so it's elevated slightly & not have as much ground contact ie. less worry about drainage/rot/pest damage issues etc.

We've looked at other base options like digging out the grass, putting down weedmat & gravel, or pavers with sand etc, but we don't want a permanent solution, as we'll eventually want to dismantle or move it & replace the Cubby with a trampoline. So I want to keep the grass/ground underneath the structure.

Can anyone tell me what the pros/cons are for both options? Or have any other suggestions? Is it possible to just have the whole thing sitting on pallets on the ground? Or a timber sleeper base? Can you build a deck on small footings without having to cement in the posts?

Thanks in advance 🤗

Screenshot_20220114-125357_Chrome.jpg

House with adjacent carport idea

Screenshot_20220114-125307_Chrome.jpg

Flat base straight on ground idea (or on pallets)

Screenshot_20220114-134349_Chrome.jpg

Slightly elevated on footings with a couple of steps.

Screenshot_20220114-131447_Chrome.jpg

Or could we do something like this? Would this be ok?

Thanks!

EricL