Workshop
Ask a question

Screening for bins

notshyofeffort
Cultivating a Following

Screening for bins

Completed project.Completed project.

Hello all

I am new to this and not much of a handy person. I want to hide the bins in my front yard which are visible to me all day through study desk. I don't need to have the top covered.

As you will see in photo it has greenery behind that and I would need to access it. I am thinking a 'L' shaped screen using aluminium or plastic lattice on wheels, foldable and cut to height of bin so I can still see greenery behind that.

Any ideas from more knowledgeable people will be greatly appreciated and also what will be required for putting wheels with screen.

Thanks in advance.

DSC_0347.JPG

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to hide bins using aluminum or plastic lattice?

Hello @notshyofeffort

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. Thank you for joining us and sharing your desire to hide your bins with lattice.

Using lattice is an excellent idea to disguise your bins. I suggest using the Matrix 2410 x 1205 x 5mm Charcoal Plastic Reeded Diamond Lattice. They are tall enough to go past the height of the bin and wide enough to cover all three bins. I recommend getting two sheets of the Matrix Lattice. Because you will have an abundance of materials, I suggest making a "U" shape to make the cover stable. To join the lattice together, I suggest using Pinnacle 75mm Galvanised Strap Hinge With Brass Pin - 2 Pack for each side. 

Fix the hinges in place using Zenith M6 x 20mm Hot Dipped Galvanised Hex Head Bolt And Nut. When you've gathered your materials, cut the panel to the size that you need using a saw. Position the hinges on the inside of the panel, drill the mounting holes through the plastic and fix them on using the nut and bolt recommended. Please keep us updated, we look forward to seeing your Matrix Lattice assembled.

Let me tag our experienced member @ProjectPete for his recommendations.