Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Low Merbau Deck on Apartment Balcony

DoSimpleBetter
Having an Impact

Low Merbau Deck on Apartment Balcony

Hi, 

I'm planning a very small section of deck on my apartment balcony. The total area I've allocated for the deck is 2680mm x 1925mm. This is my first attempt building a deck - I'm very much still learning and happy to be corrected on any of the assumptions I've made below. 

I'll be building this deck directly on top of the existing tiles on my balcony, and do not intend to modify/remove/drill into these tiles. I'd like to keep the total height of the deck <100mm, to avoid creating issues with the height of my existing balcony railing, and the height of my windowsill/doorframe. The BBQ stand/aircon cover pictured below currently finishes 100mm exactly below the height of the railing - this will be placed on top of the deck.

My plan is to use 'Builder's Edge Pedestal Foot 25-40mm' in place of posts and bearers. These will be secured to the tiles with silicone, with the joists secured to them. As I understand it, this product can be lowered to a total height of 25mm. (Please confirm?)

https://www.bunnings.com.au/builders-edge-25-40mm-pedestal-foot-minifoot_p2450073

I will then attach a 45mm high joist on top of this. The joist will be 70mm wide, laid flat - is this appropriate? Will this cause standing water issues?

Finally the decking - 90mm x 19mm, which will give me a total height of approx. 89mm. What spacing is best between these boards to aid drainage?

I've mocked up the below floorplan based on my (very fresh) understanding of how the joists should be laid out. I'd love some feedback on this layout and my suggested approach to ensure I'm on the right track.