Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build an indoor bird enclosure?

PN
Having an Impact

How to build an indoor bird enclosure?

Hi All I am a total DIY novice. So reaching our to all the gurus in here for guidance. I have got a unusual project. We are wanting to build a L shaped enclosure in our living room for where we keep our pet cockatiels and budgies. The enclosure we are wanting is around waist high with a base running from two walls and intersecting in an L and a clear material waist high L shaped enclosure stting on the base. The aim is to prevent the seed debris etc from the birds rolling across the entire living room. I am wanting guidance on how build this. I am imaging two pieces intersecting in a L and then something other than glass forming the 'wall' of the enclosure. I have enclosed two photos of the area which we want to bound by the enslosure. I am probably not very clear in explaining what we are after so thanks in advance for the help.

Area to enclose ( the L )Area to enclose ( the L )Side view of the LSide view of the L

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Indoor Bird Enclosure

Hi Partha (@PN),

I'd suggest that you'd need a drill driver and a handsaw or circular saw

Depending on how far your birds throw their seed out of the cages, I would have thought that an enclosure made from a piece of 285 x 19mm x 2.4m Premium Grade Dressed Pine would capture 95% of debris. 285mm would be over half the height of the cage and if it setback away from the wall I don't see the birds throwing seed at that angle. That would certainly be easier to construct than the framed version I previously mentioned.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
PN
Having an Impact

Hi Mitchell