Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to cut timber benchtops - trestle table or workbench?

Edgar
Growing in Experience

How to cut timber benchtops - trestle table or workbench?

I am replacing my kitchen benches with Kaboodle 2400 x 600 x 36mm Hevea Timber Benchtops. I will need to cut it to size myself as the lead time for special orders is a bit too long. Do I need a workbench or trestle table to do this? I'm an absolute beginner so all advice welcome. 

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: trestle table or workbench?

Hi @Edgar,

A workbench, trestle table or saw horses would be beneficial. Check out this step-by-step guide on How to build a saw horse. However, they are not a necessity, and your panel only needs to be raised above the ground high enough so your saw blade does not touch it. Many times I've simply raised these panels on some lengths of timber to provide an airgap beneath.

Picking up a couple of saw horses would be a good idea, as they'll allow you to work at a convenient height, and you can secure the panel to them with clamps.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Edgar
Growing in Experience

Thank you very much. 

I need to purchase a circular saw and also a jigsaw (for the sink cut out).

Any recommendations? Things to look out for?

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hi @Edgar,