Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What stain for dining chairs to match floorboards?

jjj_z
Finding My Feet

What stain for dining chairs to match floorboards?

Hi guys, I'd like to stain my new dining chair legs to match our wooden floorboards, but I'm a complete novice at DIY. Can anyone please kindly suggest what colour stain I should consider? Thank you in advance! 

57DBF4D8-8099-4F1A-B75D-EA0D9D461CCB.jpgIMG_1890.jpg

Jewelleryrescue
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: What stain for dining chairs to match floorboards?

Hi @jjj_z 

Firstly  we can  help try match your floor stain  color.  AS this is your goal and personal preferance.

But some times having contrasting  or different textures /looks  adds to your space.

I say this  as it is  hard  for a perfect match re staining.

Where your floors stained or are they pre made? The name of your timber  color and or stain maybe a guide to  close match.

In the  meanwhile to closest color match to your floor color is (Kowhia by  Forestwood  timber stain  by wattyl  ) Depending on how it takes to your chair legs.  Color chart  https://wattyl.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Wattyl-Forestwood-Brochure-AU-Web.pdf

Apply stain using a bit of old rag folded into a small square   dab to rag to the stain tin to pick up color then lightly wpie over the  chair legs or pre test the  stain colour on clear pine for a close sample,.  

Each time you wipe the chair leg the color will darken on the leg so it is easy to over do the staining. Take  care.

Once you know your stain works on your chairs  note down  color for future reference as you may want to match other timber to your  theme.

Wow. Thank you so much for such a detailed response - this is actually so helpful!! And having a look at the Kowhai stain, it looks so similar to the floor!