Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How can I make the paint line neater?

mich1972
Kind of a Big Deal

How can I make the paint line neater?

IMG_1324.jpeg

IMG_1323.jpeg

IMG_1331.jpeg

IMG_1318.jpeg

IMG_1311.jpeg

Good morning everyone. Can you please give me some advice. I decided to step out of my comfort zone and paint a feature wall in the living room. More like our young blokes chill out area 😆 

I have NEVER done this before. Once the second coat was dry I slowly and carefully pulled off the painters tape. 
Unfortunately the tape pulled off the original ceiling paint from the cornices. As frustrating as that was I sanded it down, painted affected areas with Zinsser primer and then painted with the ceiling paint again. That was a good learning experience for me. Can I ask how I can make the black line straighter, that meets the base of the ceiling cornice ? It looks bumpy. Is there a special painting tool I could use ? I think it’s bumpy in parts because I had to fill in so many movement cracks. 🙂 Kind regards Michelle. 

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How can I make the paint line neater?

Hi @mich1972,

Apart from the unfortunate and possibly unavoidable issue of the paint peeling off with the tape removal, it looks like you should be advising us on how to get straight paint lines! Those lines are crispy straight, and you've had no bleed-through, which is a common issue. Have you ever wondered why home renovation shows don't show close-ups of pin-stripping on walls? It's because even professionals see bleeding under the tape, and I don't think I've ever seen a transition turn out as nicely as yours. I really couldn't provide much advice on improving your work.

The only image with an imperfection is the first, where you have a little misalignment. Did you start a new piece of tape there?