Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How realistic would it be for a complete novice to make a bed frame and desk?

Tealtea
Just Starting Out

How realistic would it be for a complete novice to make a bed frame and desk?

Hi there,

I've been looking online for untreated timber beds (King Single size) however there are not too many options available nor are they cheap (usually around $800 or above). Thus I've been looking at making my own by buying untreated pine, however I do have many doubts because I have never attempted anything close to this. Does anyone have any advice or experience in this matter? How long would it take? And what would an approximate budget be? I also want to make my own desk. In terms of equipment, I have a workshop with a lot of tools that my friend uses, although I am unsure exactly what they are. 

I also noticed that a lot of the untreated wood for sale is out of stock. What is the cause for this? Are there any alternatives?

Thanks!

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How realistic would it be for a complete novice to make a bed frame and desk?

Hello @Tealtea 

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's sensational to have you join us, and thanks for sharing your questions about building a bedframe and a desk.

My first suggestion would be to draw your bedframe on paper. This will give you an idea of its shape and the type of timber you'll want to use on it. Do you need it to be a single, double, queen or king size? Do you need a headboard or just a plain frame will do? Generally, a bed frame is rectangular in shape and has four legs, inside the frame are side supports that will hold the slats of the bed to prevent the mattress from falling through the frame.