Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to create a feature wall?

Deano1
Cultivating a Following

How to create a feature wall?

Hi, I'm new to the Bunnings Community & this is my first post, so hopefully it makes sense. I'm painting a feature wall in my unit, using a light grey suede paint & then a darker grey suede to create a ' Weathered Concrete ' look. I should clarify by saying that I'm trying to paint & create etc. 😆

I have done some home renovating & decorating before, inc a feature wall, however it was quite a while ago & different in many ways, which is why I'm hoping to get some advice & ideas before starting.

Firstly, when applying the darker grey suede, is it best to use a brush, sponge, cloth or something different & is there a certain way to apply paint, as in actual technique, in order to get the most realistic results? 

I also have another idea regarding the adjacent wall, which is about the same size as the feature wall but has a doorway through to another room. It also previously had another door, which is basically in the centre & the outline of both the door & frame is clearly visible & doesn't look great. I was thinking of painting all the other walls anyway, just in the original color to give it a fresh new look & hopefully further highlight the accent wall, so I think I could use plaster or a type of putty to make it level with the rest of the wall & then simply paint over it.

However, I really want to try & create a specific look & I'm not sure exactly what it'z called but basically it'z a broken or worn brick type of style. That's probably not a very good description 🤔, so I've also attached photos to show what I mean, however whilst the style is correct, it wouldn't be in that colour but they are the only photos I could find to show what I was meaning.