Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to fill hole in brick wall?

atmatic
Getting Established

How to fill hole in brick wall?

Hi all, its me again, separate question from my other posts.

So we've got the heater gas bayonet decomissioned, and needing to get this wall vent closed.

wall vent.jpg

I guess the question really is, how do I brick this? As I have no experience regarding it.

Again, thank you all kindly.

Dave-1
Home Improvement Guru

Re: [?] Covering Wall Vent

Afternoon @atmatic 

Does the vent supply fresh air even without the gas bayonet? I am always reluctant on closing up vents as they usually have a purpose.

However I would plaster the hole, not brick it as I am more familiar with plastering :smile:

Id put two pieces of timber bottom and top or side and side and bolt them to the bricks. leaving enough space for a repair patch of plaster. Then liquidnails / screw the plaster to the timber.

Once you have done that it becomes a matter of filling the edges with plaster and feathering it in. You may need to fill the edge a few times as there are a couple of gaps in the concrete render to the edge of the hole to allow each layer to dry first before filling the rest in.

Dave

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Covering Wall Vent

Hi @atmatic 

It's great that you've received excellent advice from @Dave-1. I totally agree that the vents have a purpose, they are placed in to balance the temperature in a brick home and provide air circulation inside your wall preventing moisture build up. I therefore suggest not blocking them up.

However, in order to improve its looks, I suggest painting the vent in the same colour as your wall or if you want it to stand out painting it white to give it the impression that it is a new vent.

Here is a link to our best advice: Can you block the air vents in an old brick house?

If you need further assistance, please let me know.