Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to paint geometric design on wall?

Ramank
Finding My Feet

How to paint geometric design on wall?

Hi,

I'm a beginner. Want to paint a geometric design on one wall of our living area. Don't know anything about painting. 

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: How to paint geometric design on wall?

Hi @Ramank,

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community.

I'll leave the how-to for the experts, but want to make sure you get some inspiration from this fantastic kids bedroom project by @ProjectPete. It sounds like exactly what you want to achieve.

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!

Hi Jason,

Thanks for your response. Yes, something similar, but with greyish and off white colour, as it is a side wall to main entrance. :smile:

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hello @Ramank 

Thanks for sharing your question about painting a geometric design on your wall.

I propose designing your geometric pattern on paper first. This will help you in deciding what shapes you would like to include in your pattern. Once you've finalized the pattern you would like to put on your wall, I suggest making a few copies and tyring out colour patterns. Once you've finalized the design, I suggest preparing the wall for painting. 

Laying out the pattern will be the challenging part as you'll need to estimate how far you need to position the painter's tape. Use your design as a guide and slowly build the pattern. Once the pattern is laid out, I suggest going to the store and picking out your colour samples. I suggest getting 500ml sized sample pots to begin with.

My best advice is to use a premium brush in order to get a superior finish.

Here are some handy guides to help with your project:

Here are some amazing geometric painted walls our Workshop members have shared: