Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build an outdoor garden ramp?

yasmina
Just Starting Out

How to build an outdoor garden ramp?

I’m just a beginner and wanting to add a garden ramp in our sloping backyard. A ramp might work better than steps as our son loves riding his bike and we will have better access for the mower to the grass once we add retaining walls in. My questions are:
1. Is this a good idea?

2. what materials. Due to the landscape is crushed granite not an option? Will we have to go decking?

3. ideal slope degree?

B480248F-BB78-42AB-9829-0894AB214897.jpeg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Outdoor Garden Ramp

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @yasmina. It's wonderful to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about creating a ramp.

You might like to provide a little more info to our helpful members on what your future goals are for this area so they can better understand the project at hand. A little sketch of your landscaping would be helpful.

It sounds like you might intend to run a retaining wall across the yard and level the area. A ramp would certainly be an option, and you'd run retaining walls on its sides. Crushed granite could be used to surface it, but if the slope is too steep, I'd expect it to run away in heavy rains. These Pebblelock pavers can help resolve that issue by locking the pebbles in place.

What will the height of the retaining wall be, and how much distance in front of it do you have to create your ramp? Ideally, a ramp should be around a 1:14 slope for accessibility reasons, and that is the requirement for public spaces according to codes. For private residences, the requirements might not be mandatory, but it would be best to use the codes as a baseline and check with your local council for more information.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell