Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to repair gutter drain pipe?

Lemming
Getting Established

How to repair gutter drain pipe?

Hi, I have recently purchased a house and one of the gutter drain pipes is leaking.  It appears to have previously been repaired with a lot of silicone.  I am thinking I should purchase an angle grinder to cut out the previously repaired section, and silicone in a small piece of aluminum.

Just chasing advice as to whether this is the correct way to make a somewhat long lasting repair.  If it would be better to pop-rivet up the aluminum so it is more structurally sound I am happy to take that direction also.

I am new to the world of DIY so will have to buy all the tools from scratch including the angle grinder, so if there is a more efficient way of making this repair I am all ears.  Having said that, I'm happy to buy some tools to expand my toolkit for future repairs.

PXL_20240211_032223780.jpg

PXL_20240211_032138936.jpg

Gutter repair.jpg

Current list of things I think I will need to buy:

Angle grinder https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-one-18v-115mm-cordless-angle-grinder-tool-only_p6210440
Silicon https://www.bunnings.com.au/selleys-310g-translucent-roof-and-gutter-silicone-sealant_p1234919
Glue (?) https://www.bunnings.com.au/gorilla-59ml-glue-bottle_p1662678
Small piece of aluminum TBA

Thanks in advance!

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to repair gutter drain pipe?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Lemming. It's terrific to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about repairing a downpipe.