Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to fix a hairline crack in the vanity basin?

FixRookie
Just Starting Out

How to fix a hairline crack in the vanity basin?

PXL_20220107_005831848.jpg

Hi all,

I am new to this and would like to seek some advice on how to fix the above bathroom vanity basin hairline crack.

It was caused by a bottle dropped onto it and caused a few minor cracks.  On previous posts I saw, someone suggested a Selleys Porcelain Fix kit.  But, I don't think Bunnings stock such item anymore.

Any tips would be much appreciated.  

Thanks

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to fix a hairline crack in the vanity basin?

Hello @FixRookie

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's wonderful to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about fixing hairline cracks in your vanity basin. 

One of the difficulties with repairing porcelain is trying to match its colour. At the time, the Selleys Porcelain Fix kit was the way to go, but even that was not a perfect colour match. I suggest using a sealing agent like Gorilla Glue 51ml Clear Bottle. The glue will penetrate the crack and seal it off preventing dirt and mould from forming inside the crack. The glue dries clear and will not hide the damage, but it will make the basin usable. 

Another recommendation is to use PC-11 56g White Epoxy Paste. I suggest using a tight disposable glove and applying the paste in a firm feathering motion. Once the product hardens it can be sanded down. Please note that the product dries off white and will not match your basin colour. One other option to touch up the repair is to use Rust-Oleum Appliance Touch-Up in conjunction with a Nylon Round Craft Paint Brush - Size 2. The Rust-Oleum Appliance Touch-Up will have to be specially ordered at the Special Orders Desk, again it will dry white but will not exactly match your basin finish.