Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to tile a shower tray (or base)?

AxelDIYer
Getting Established

How to tile a shower tray (or base)?

Hi

I have checked out this tiling job as named above, to help with my complete shower make-over in the ensuite.

As I am a complete novice when it comes to anything but simple tiling, I have the following questions.

1. Getting the fall correct - does the waterproof board under the tiles (blueboard?) need to have the fall to the back towards the outlet grate? 

2. What prevents the water from lodging against the back wall of the shower, instead of it all going into waste?

3. Does the fall really need to be centered towards the outlet (funnel type) and how is this done with the blueboard?

4. There is no mention of grouting ?

5. Would a prefab shower base be much easier (with optional tiling over the base)? I was thinking about a walk in type but this may present too much complexity for me.

6. Finally - is it possible to get complete new shower kits from Bunnings ?

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: How to tile a shower tray (or base)?

Welcome to Bunnings Workshop @AxelDIYer. We're pleased to have you join the community and look forward to seeing your bathroom renovation project progress.  

I assume you are following the Bunnings step-by-step guide How to tile a shower base. Let me tag one of our resident Bunnings D.I.Y. experts in @EricL to assist you and answer your questions. 

In the meantime you might like to share some photos of your bathroom and also a copy of your plans so Eric and other members can see what you are working with and what you hope to achieve. 

Thanks,

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hello @AxelDIYer 

Thanks for sharing your question about tiling your shower tray.