Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Renovating laundry bathroom and toilet on a budget

MGusto
Having an Impact

Renovating laundry bathroom and toilet on a budget

Hey I thought I would share my experiences in updating my daughter's 1980's wet areas without spending a whole lot of money.

Laundry.

First I removed the old school taps and replaced them with 1/4 turn ceramic disc Lollypop set. Then removed the old tiles from around the tub and replaced them with subway style. I have never done any tiling before but as it was not a big job I thought I would give it a go. (In retrospect I should have renewed the tub)

Next I replaced the running tiles at the base of the walls with large white 400 x 200 tiles.

Finally, I laid 4.5mm hybrid waterproof floor planking directly over the old tiles. These are easy to work with - you can score them with a hardiplank knife and then they easily snap. The manufacturer requires that there is an expansion gap between the wall and the edge of the board and not to use silicon sealant - I ignored this so sue me. The effect is better and so far there has been no warping especially since the expanse of flooring is so little. Some photos..

Laundry 1.jpgLaundry 2.jpgLaundry 3.jpgLaundry final.jpg

Bathroom

Taps were replaced with Lollypops and a fancy shower rose.

I replaced the vanity unit with a relatively inexpensive replacement. Then the hybrid floor planking again. The sealant is essential here to stop water from entering under the boards. The planking cannot be used in the shower alcove so the original tiles still show.