Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

total novice wanting to re-do flooring!

almonds5
Finding My Feet

total novice wanting to re-do flooring!

 Hi workshop community! 

We just acquired a small coin laundromat and we are looking to renovate the flooring by ourselves. Here are pictures of what we have right now. I can't seem to figure out if the base board layer is masonite board, IBS or plywood? Can vinyl be directly glued onto this board?  Its thickness is 1cm and has been fixed down with screws. We can tell that the flooring is not completely level, hence, we are thinking of using vinyl sheet rolls instead of planks 

We intend to:

1) remove the timber skirting

2) clean up the floor boards

3) install senso vinyl sheet rolls sold by the metre at Bunnings using Dunlop adhesive

Does this plan sound right? 

Thanks for your advice ! 

20200923_135753.jpg

20200923_214754.jpg

20200922_215244.jpg

20200922_215411.jpg

20200923_214857.jpg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: total novice wanting to re-do flooring!

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @almonds5. It's great to have you join us and many thanks for your questions.

I'm curious to know what the blue foam is accomplishing. You might find that the baseboard (possibly plywood as it appears to have a timber grain) is quite uneven in places. The foam could have been laid to disguise this variation. 

The flooring certainly doesn't appear to be IBS or masonite and as per the manufacturer's recommendation "All timber subfloors should be overlaid with a purpose made wood flooring underlay.". For further information on specifications and installation requirements please see the Senso flooring website.