Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Garage organisation

prettyliving
Amassing an Audience

Garage organisation

BB33A045-F4D1-4CDC-AFF6-7E6C68A01D38.jpeg

E7363063-1436-463A-8EF3-5F2E73EE3E9A.jpeg

A few months back my husband & I built some shelves and a workshop space in our garage. We don’t have a shed but we extended our garage when we built the house so we wanted to utilise that extra space so that we could still fit 2 cars in there if we wanted to.

My husband is a boiler maker by trade so he made up some heavy duty brackets at work, and then we used a timber benchtop from Bunnings for the workspace, and large boards of timber for the shelves up on the wall.
I also bought some plastic storage tubs from Bunnings and labelled them the old fashioned way (some cardboard & permi maker) so that everything is now easy to find.

It works a treat, and the garage now stays clean & organised a lot longer. 

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Garage organisation

Hi @prettyliving,

Many thanks for sharing your project, it looks like a very functional system you've achieved there. Those brackets are certainly up to the job and you'd expect they could hold vastly more than any alternatives. I've recently switched from storing things in cardboard boxes to storage containers and I can say they are much more functional and easier to access things when you want them.

I trust our members will take some great inspiration from your project and we look forward to your next one.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
SalBay
Building a Reputation

That's a great use of space.!

I'm still trying to downsize from a  100sqm to a 50sqm shed.  

Some tips

(a) fix up and paint the floor first ( my slab was really rough) 

(b) paint the floor and ceilings light colours (cream floor and white walls for me)