Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to convert garage into a studio?

Lynn10
Finding My Feet

How to convert garage into a studio?

Hello, im a first time novice builder attempting to convert part of my garage into a studio. The area is 5000 mm x 2200 mm. The gable end is to be opened up with stacker glass door approx 3000mm wide by 2000high. The current cement floor will be the sub floor with a timber floor on top. Id like to know what type of timber to use for the joists, do i need joist supports. How far apart do Timber joists studs need to be, remembering that the floor joists will be supporting the large stacker or sliding window doors. I also have a situation where the shed has gaps along the perimeter of the current cement floor that needs sealing as some parts of the shed won't be opened up. Do need to remove the galvanized gable end wall before i start the floor. Sorry i cant get images to upload Thank you Lynn

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to convert garage into a studio?

Hello @Lynn10

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's fantastic to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about converting your garage into a studio.

I'm sorry you're having trouble posting the pictures. Please send them to this address workshop@bunnings.com.au and I'll be more than happy to post the photos for you. In regards to your flooring, It all depends on how you'll be building your flooring frame, the common size for bearers starts at 140 x 45, and larger pieces might be required.

I believe it's important that we see the pictures of your garage so that we'll be able to assess its current condition. We can then make recommendations on how to proceed. 

We look forward to seeing the photos of your garage.

Eric

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!

Thank you Eric.