Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Which jigsaw should I get?

Shagen
Building a Reputation

Which jigsaw should I get?

I am hoping to get some tips on which jigsaw i should get. I am a novice and just started out doing little projects. While I was looking for a jigsaw to purchase, I came across 2 Ozito Jigsaws. One is a Cordless Compact Jigsaw and the other just says an 18V Jigsaw. I took a look at the specifications and they are very similar other than the size.

What is the difference between the two? 

Thanks.

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Which jigsaw should I get?

Hi @Shagen,

I'll outline below the differences in the two machines, as you have noted they are very similar.

Ozito PXC 18v Cordless Compact Jigsaw Skin Only Model Number PXCJS-018 - More compact design, 2700 strokes per minute, 20mm stroke depth and weight 1.64kg

Ozito PXC 18v Jigsaw Skin Only Model Number PXJSS-600 - LED work light, 2400 strokes per minute, 25.4mm stroke depth and weight 1.85kg

Please let me know if you need further information or had any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Shagen
Building a Reputation

Thanks @MitchellMc,

Am I correct in saying 2700 strokes a minute is faster and the faster the strokes the faster it can potentially cut? But what does stroke depth mean or meant to do? The weight I am not too concerned with as its not that much of a difference.

Shagen

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hi @Shagen,

You are correct in saying the more strokes per minute the faster a jigsaw can cut but there are other factors that contribute as well. The stroke length is the distance the jigsaw's blade travels up and down. The longer the stroke length of a jigsaw, the faster it is able to cut. This is because more teeth come in contact with the workpiece per stroke.