Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Which planer should I buy for planing pallets?

Tyro
Becoming a Leader

Which planer should I buy for planing pallets?

I'm thinking about planing down the pallet boards.  I haven't the skill to use a manual planer so electric is the obvious choice.  Once I have some more experience and time I want to make some furniture , so I'd like to get something reliable.  With a cord.  😉

All answers welcome!  😁

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Which planer should I buy for planing pallets?

Hi @Tyro,

Let me kick off this discussion by tagging some experienced pallet project creators in the community to see what tools they utilise when working with pallets.

@LePallet@Yorky88@lcantem@nolifemanual@Tara86@Arcc@Imenz@prettyliving 

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hi @Tyro,

You can get quite a reasonable finish on pallet timber by simply sanding it with an orbital or belt sander. The orbital sander is perfect for leaving some of the rustic charm, or the belt sander can be used for stripping the timber back completely. I've made many projects from pallet timber, most often working with the rustic styling, and I've never used an electric planer. When I use pallet timber, it's typically because it has such a unique character, and I want to preserve it in the final piece. There is a reasonable piece of advice going around that if you're going to mill pallet timber with an electric planer, it's likely easier to just use dressed timber in the first place. There are only a couple of benefits to using pallet timber in a project: its rustic nature and that it's free. It's a fair amount of work to remove all those nails and plane it smooth just to get free timber.