Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Can I extend retaining wall fence brackets with bracket plates?

Kare
Just Starting Out

Can I extend retaining wall fence brackets with bracket plates?

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting question here and I hope someone could give me some advice of DIY colourbond fence.

We hired a contractor to build a 1700mm long retaining wall approx. 80-100mm off our house boundary line. Instead of putting the offset fence brackets, he put straight fence brackets and they probably cannot be redone now. 

We are now thinking of DIY colourbond fences, is it possible (or safe) to add some bracket plates to existing fence brackets to make it offset, so we can put our fence on the boundary line?

Thank you in advance for your help.20231130_170105.jpg

Jewelleryrescue
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: Can I extend retaining wall fence brackets with bracket plates?

Hi  @Kare 

Well  hello to the  workshop.  Ummm I am very familiar with color bond  fences.  But a little confused about  your fence goals and current retaining wall placement. Did you want to run the fence on top of the retaining wall?

A   /   For  example that white  surveyors peg is the real  corner of your yard typically the color bond posts start exactly there and run down your mutual fence line half paid for by neighbour. So  the fence forms its own corner with standard  color bond posts on top of  the peg.. That would a normal fence arrangement .

B/ It looks to me you want to attach a color bond post to the metal bracket and have it run along top of the wall?

If this is  true I would take bracket off and not use it. 

More simply dig in and cement a standard color bond  post at the end of the concrete retaining wall which will also be able to position on your true fence line next to white  peg (No offset required) . The color bond bottom  rail will then simply sit on top of your  retaining wall.