Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Help! What plants will work in my shady garden?

stupidfish
Building a Reputation

Help! What plants will work in my shady garden?

So, I’m a bit of a novice gardener but want to turn a small patch of grass in my back yard (approx 1m x 8m) into a garden bed full of veggies, herbs and ideally a fruit tree. The problem is, the garden is in the southern part of the garden and other than some afternoon sun in spring and summer it is in shade most of the time.

My current thinking is that I’ll plant some Rosemary and/or Thyme at the front (purple) in the area that gets the most sun. Then a two tiered  garden bed (the red section) with some veggies at the front (Potatoes, carrots etc) and some taller or climbing plants at the back (Snow peas, beans, passion fruit, capsicum or tomatoes).

What I can’t figure out is what to plant in the back (yellow). This is the shadiest part of the garden and I’d love to plant a lemon/lime tree here but I’m not sure if it will grow well in that spot. I also thought some timber garden edging might work around everything (I’ve seen a merbau roll @ Bunnings that looks good.)

Does anyone have any suggestions and if my current thinking on what to do will work? Thank you!

EB88B2C6-64FB-4A8B-8DA6-CB30BF833277.jpeg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Help! What plants will work in my shady garden?

Hi @stupidfish,

Many thanks for your questions, I'd be happy to start the conversation.

I believe that although citrus will survive in a shady environment they will not thrive and occasionally not flower at all. You might wish to plant the citrus in a 1/2 Oak Wine Barrel Timber Planter instead of the ground so you at least have to option of moving it if it does struggle.

Some herbs that can be grown in partial shade are Chives, Parsley, Coriander, Thyme, Lemon Balm and Tarragon.