Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to remove thatch on buffalo lawn?

gkmsyd
Finding My Feet

How to remove thatch on buffalo lawn?

I am new to maintaining lawns and hired an Airtasker to cut overly grown buffalo lawn when rain gave a break last Saturday before it started raining again. It seems cut grass was left on lawn, which formed a thick layer of grass that looks very dry. Can we leave that as is or should we dethatch our lawn, and if we need to dethatch is there anything that we can buy from bunnings such as rake other than hiring an expensive dethatcher. The lawn is pretty new and was laid last november. I am posting pictures of how green it was before turning dry.

BeforeBeforeAfter Cut in wet weatherAfter Cut in wet weatherCloseup of dry grassCloseup of dry grassCloseup of dry grass2Closeup of dry grass2Closeup of dry grass3Closeup of dry grass3   

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to remove thatch on buffalo lawn

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @gkmsyd. It's brilliant to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about de-thatching a lawn.

This looks like a simple case of cut grass left on the lawn and not a de-thatching issue. After many years of growth, a lawn becomes thatched, and a build-up of dead material gets stuck within the grass blades. In this case, the dead material is simply sitting on top of the lawn and would be easily removed with a plastic rake. Just give it a bit of a rake over, and your lawn will be fine.