Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to revive my tulips?

ss93
Finding My Feet

How to revive my tulips?

2CB1DAC9-DD2A-404D-A124-FD09B3FC107A.jpeg

  

A82A5AEF-EE13-4635-9B13-136889F44FEF.jpeg

Hi, I’ve just recently bought some tulips from Bunnings and have replanted a few of them in a bigger pot. However, now the leaves and stems are turning a red-brown colour and tips of some of the leaves are drying out and wilting. I’ve attached some photos. Initially they were getting quite a bit of sun and so I thought it might be too much and moved them to a shadier place and added a bit of Osmocotes Boost and Feed liquid fertiliser. Is there anything I can do to revive them? I’m new to gardening and any tips would be greatly appreciated! 
Thank you! 

F3C4E1E1-2079-44D6-A7A7-0699869F6D69.jpeg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to revive my tulips?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @ss93. It's wonderful to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about transplanting tulips.

I'm sorry to hear about your tulips wilting. Spring isn't a good time to transplant tulips. It's best to wait until the flowers have died off and Autumn, when the bulb is dormant, is ideal. Unfortunately, it looks like they might have suffered from the transplant. If you split a clump, damage to the delicate bulb is almost definitely the cause of their downturn. I'd suggest that there is not much that can be done, and hopefully, the bulbs will re-bloom next Spring. You could try a diluted ratio of Seasol, though I'm not hopeful that would improve the situation.

Let me mention our experienced Horticulturalists @Adam_W and @Noelle to see if anything can be done.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Noelle
Kind of a Big Deal