Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to install Kaboodle drawer units in cabinet?

leamary
Growing in Experience

How to install Kaboodle drawer units in cabinet?

I'm just starting out on putting together my Kaboodle kitchen. It has a lot of drawer units and have already run into a couple of problems. I'm going for the metal sided drawers. Firstly the paper template for marking out the holes for the drawer runners is not accurate. Normally when a hole is required, the measurement is to the middle of the hole. On two templates the 37mm in from front actually measures to the rear of the hole. So if I drill directly to the centre of the hole indicated, my drawer fronts don't actually meet up with the front of the cabinet. They sit proud by 1-1.5mm.

Another problem is a weird little tab on each side at the rear of the sides for the drawer. If I don't hammer it in to the side of the base of the drawer then the drawer sides will sit out by about 1.5-2mm at the back on both sides. Does anyone know if I can just nip the tabs off? Tech guy at kaboodle said just to hammer them into the drawer but I'm worried about splitting the chipboard. Thanks everyone. Hope to get this problem sorted.

Dave-1
Home Improvement Guru

Re: Annoying tab on metal drawer sides

Good Evening @leamary 

Man I remember banging my head at first when I was putting together my Kaboodle kitchen :smile: And yeah I really wanted to headbutt the brick wall.

The kitchen draws I had were timber but the process is the same. "Trust the plans" When I flipped my mindset from presuming/knowing what to do and followed the plans exactly like a robot, all of a sudden things went together as the plans said they should.

That said I did make multiple trips to Bunnings Kitchens and looked and looked again plus talked to staff about why part A wasnt Fitting to Part C.