Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

D.I.Y. barn door in apartment

Megarakawa
Cultivating a Following

D.I.Y. barn door in apartment

After.jpgHey Guys

I wanted to share our experiences installing a DIY barn door. 

Before I start, I wanted to post this not to show off, but to share my experiences so you don't make the mistakes I did.

I am NOT a builder. I am a Reno rookie and tend to wing these things  and this girl managed to wing this barn door and it was a success!

For anyone looking to install a barn door here are some of the obstacles we had to overcome:

1. Our apartment is brick/concrete so drilling was tougher (and super loud!)

2. Our hallway entry where we were planning to instal the barn door was HUGE.. I couldn't find a door that would fit the space.

3. The top of our hallway was an aircon vent (I didn't realise this until after I purchased everything .. I know.. silly.. bf wasn't impressed haha) so installing the Rolltrak for our barn door was going to be difficult. 

So this meant we needed to build our own barn door AND just adjust how we installed the Rolltrak railing. 

For the Barn door, we purchased 12mm ply wood as the base and I bought planks of white Primed Pine DAR to create a pattern for the front of my barn door. All together for the materials and accessories it cost us.. wait for it... under $350!

Now when I said I winged it, I wasn't joking. At this stage I started to panic about the weight of this bloody door I was building which was already a work in progress. Word of advice, check the weight of everything if you can!! I had the fun job of weighing my door on scales.

Once we realised everything was still within range (phew) we continued to build the door. This part was relatively fun! The only hard part was cutting the door to size.