Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to upcycle timber entertainment unit?

Daemongm
Getting Established

How to upcycle timber entertainment unit?

IMG_20221128_144051.jpg

IMG_20220603_144726.jpg

I have one of those really heavy entertainment units. I would like - if possible - to upcycle it. I am thinking of two stages: the first to convert it to a TV bench unit with ideally separating parts so there's a short stand for the TV on top with consoles etc in the slot under and then joining the two glass cabinet ends to make a separate media unit, then of course make it look nice enough (hide holes and glue marks etc) . Stage two would be to modernise it, but I don't want to do that yet and we expect to move in a few months.

It is an Early Settler unit and seems to be a mix of nails, some screws and I am guessing glue. I have little or no carpentry experience and just your standard occasional DIY tool set. 

I would like advice on if this is possible to do at all, let alone with my skills set, and if so, how do I go about it please? I have contacted some carpenters previously and none seem interested in the job or indicate it would be too much work. For me, it's a solid piece of furniture that could last for generations, itjust needs a bit of updating for current use.

Thanks in advance. 

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: How to upcycle timber entertainment unit?

Hi @Daemongm,

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. We're thrilled to have you join us, and look forward to reading all about your projects and plans for around the house and garden. Please don't hesitate to post whenever you need assistance as we have helpful members sharing advice and inspiration on the site every day. 

Let me tag some of our clever and creative furniture upcyclers in the community to kick off this discussion for you: