Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Should I repair this wall myself or get in a plasterer?

rankamateur1
Finding My Feet

Should I repair this wall myself or get in a plasterer?

Hello all, brand newbie here and I'm debating whether I should try to repair this wall myself prior to painting or getting someone in who knows what they are doing!  Pics are attached, it's a 1920s double brick bungalow and the plaster has really come away a lot from the wall.  It's not rising or falling damp (we had that checked).  Funny thing is the other side of the wall is a lounge room and it is perfectly fine.

This all started by removing a built-in wardrobe from an adjoining wall, we had a handyman do that and the plaster was so bad that the wall needed patching by a renderer and re-plastering.  They also did a little bit of this wall (you can see the line on the right hand side of the photo).  We were going to do the painting ourselves and in doing the prep work I've realised this wall is in worse shape than I thought. My questions are:

1) does it need to be rendered or just plastered?

2) what products should I use to do the work?  

All advice would be gratefully received.  I've done a fair bit of painting in my time and minor repairs to walls with spakfilla etc but this is just a bit bigger than anything I've tackled before.

.IMG_1976.JPGIMG_1975.JPGIMG_1974.JPG

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Should I repair this wall myself or get in a plasterer?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @rankamateur1. It's fantastic to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about repairing a plaster wall.