Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build a low-level deck with limited clearance space?

ragebison
Just Starting Out

How to build a low-level deck with limited clearance space?

Hi All,

We've just moved into our first home, which has an ugly covered concrete outside our living area measuring 5600mm x 2020mm. I'd like to cover the concrete with a composite timber deck. I've never built anything to this scale before so it would be a big job but I'd really like to give it a go.

PXL_20231228_022535889.jpg

The main issue I've identified in doing the planning is that I only have 80mm of space from the top and bottom of the bricks pictured. I have 90mm if I go to edge of the sliding door frame, but neither of which would give me enough space to install a 23mm deck board on top of a 70mm joist, and have enough space underneath for airflow. 

I'm wondering what my options are. I had wanted to use something like tuffblocks underneath but they're 50mm to the bottom of the joist slot. 

I've seen a video on YouTube of a guy who used packers and bolted the joist to the concrete, can I potentially use more timber laid on it's side so it is only 45mm high instead?

Cheers.  

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: No Clearance for Deck

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @ragebison. It's wonderful to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about creating a low-level deck.