Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to enclose back verandah patio?

TessaJones36
Just Starting Out

How to enclose back verandah patio?

Hi! Complete newbies for renos etc. We are thinking of enclosing the back patio space to make a room. So we can have air con.

No leaks, It has condensation issues though so everything gets ruined with mould and is quite hot so a wasted space.

  Has anyone DIY something like this? I have looked for videos etc. So, insulating is a must but basically can we turn it into a room ourselves? The previous owner did this himself. 

20211118_101902.jpg

20211118_101957.jpg

20211118_101935.jpg

  

20211118_101945.jpg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to enclose back verandah patio?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @TessaJones36. It's sensational to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about enclosing a verandah.

Before you start, you'll need to check with your local council to see if a permit is required. Apart from that, I don't see any reason why you couldn't turn this into an enclosed room. It has all the makings of one, including a roof, the structural posts supporting it and a floor. You have excellent high beams under the roof, which will be perfect for insulation. However, what you'll likely end up with is a room that's tacked onto the house. It's probably never going to be quite as air-tight and insulated as the rest of the home. This somewhat comes down to your ability to build the walls and install adequate insulation.

If you are planning to have air-con in the room, ceiling and wall insulation is a must, and I'd suggest Earthwool R2.7 SHD 90mm x 430mm x 1160mm 4.99m² Insulation SoundShield Wall Batt in the walls and Earthwool R5.0 210mm x 430mm x 1160mm 5.49m² Insulation Ceiling Batt. They are about as high an R-value rating as you'll get in Earth wool insulation.