Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to use blueboard for rendered retaining wall?

lyndal1
Getting Established

How to use blueboard for rendered retaining wall?

I have a substantial amount of retaining to do and I would like to achieve a rendered look to suit my home. I am looking to plant the top of the retaining walls. 

I was thinking of treated timber posts fixed framing for the seat part, fixing blue board back filling with Rock against the back to help with water filtering through and running drainage at the bottom. Then I'd render the blue board for a nice finish.

I'm open to suggestions or ideas and please let me know if I'm completely missed something. I have no retaining wall experience. Photo attached of the look I'm after but without the camping tile 

Screenshot_20220929-223307_Chrome.jpg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to use blueboard for rendered retaining wall?

Hi @lyndal1

I suggest first building your retaining wall/garden bed as a standalone structure. You'll find this step-by-step guide useful: How to build a raised garden bed. Remember to check regulations in your area, as if the structure is retaining soil, then once it hits a certain height, it will need engineering. 

After you've built your retaining wall from sleepers and posts, you can attach a batten frame of H3-treated timber onto its faces and fix your blueboard to the frame.