Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Low-level deck building advice needed

TrentW
Getting Established

Low-level deck building advice needed

Hi team,

Newbie here - looking to build my first backyard deck.

It is a difficult area, there is an oddly shaped brick area that needs to be covered and extended out on to the lawn. I want the deck to cover from when you exit the door, to a few meters over the lawn area. Please see photos attached.

I need advice for:

- what footings and timber width I would use for the base structure over the bricks.

- what footings I would need for the lawn area - I imagine I would need to put cement weight bearing points in to the grass area.

- any advice for navigating the drain area - I want to keep that where it is, so I think it would be possible for that portion of the deck to be a lid that can be lifted out?

Thank you in advance.269806795_1248614578964520_7338867432905297507_n.jpg269929139_658682101811073_3918597351438715882_n.jpg269991817_1012323372685763_5954183614578578951_n.jpg270145011_4915830395144186_4898653615157281830_n.jpg270304599_612830393355537_9133331117835791138_n.jpg270541994_4638239719590581_8837334394497488722_n.jpg271271676_1147845572653699_775456306209315383_n.jpg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Deck building advice.

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @TrentW. It's marvellous to have you join us and many thanks for your question about building a deck.

You should find this guide useful: How to build a low-level deck. You might also like to read through some of the deck projects our members have contributed.