Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Siphoning water from the pool?

Ingy
Just Starting Out

Siphoning water from the pool?

Hi everyone

I am hoping to gain a better understand of something that happened a few weeks ago.  My pool level was a little low so I topped it up (I am NOT a pool expert, in fact I am a complete novice, but learning).  A few days later it was low again, so topped it up.  I probably topped it up five times in two weeks.

So I'm thinking....oh no, a leak!  However it seemed a bit excessive to suddenly have this occur, I could not figure it out.

My son used the hose and left it disconnected from the tap.  When I went to connect it, to once again top up the water level, I noticed water slowly bubbling out from the hose into the garden.  

I had left the open end of the hose submerged in the pool and it appears to have been draining it!  

So.....my question is, when the hose is connected to the tap where is that water going?  I believe my garden taps are connected to my rain water tank....would it have gone in there?

And now that my pool is over flowing, could I submerge the hose again and perhaps fill my water tank???

I realise the pool water has chemicals thought (it's a salt water pool, not sure if that makes a difference).  My tank is connected to the garden and toilets, I believe.  Though knowing the previous owner there's probably nothing connected to the tank......

Many thanks, and sorry for essay!

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Siphoning water from the pool?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Ingy. It's fantastic the have you join us, and many thanks for your question.