Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Help me repurpose my TV unit to build a shelving unit

nirmal1988
Cultivating a Following

Help me repurpose my TV unit to build a shelving unit

I purchased a TV Unit set online.

Unfortunately, when it arrived the top piece (where the TV sits) was broken and I was provided a replacement of the whole unit and they never bothered to get the old one.

So, I have couple of 180x45 panels, which I want to reuse to build a standing shelf. From the website, the material of the panel is said to be manufactured timber.

My plan is to have these as the sides of my shelf (vertical), So what I need now is - a base, a top, a middle section (all of them horizontal) and a backing to cover the whole selfing unit.

I have never done any sort of carpentry DIY before, naturally, I have a few queries:

1. I am not sure what sort of panels should I buy to make my horizontal sections.

2. I roamed around my local Bunnings, I could see laminated pines, MDFs, particle boards
- None of them are in the dimensions I need. I am looking for 100X45.
Can the MDFs and particle boards be cut into dimensions I need?, or should I only go with pines ?

3. Will Bunnings cut my panels into dimensions I need ?, Cut shop in my local Bunnings was closed when I visited.

4.If I have to cut them myself, what sort of tool do I need ?

5. What sort of screws do I use to attach these sections together ?

Thanks in advance, I shall try to post a picture of the panel that I have with me.

redracer01
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: Help me repurpose my TV Unit to build a Shelving Unit

Hello @nirmal1988 

Would it be possible to post a picture of your damaged cabinet and perhaps a simple sketch of what you want it to turn into.

Thanks,

Red