Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Whole home low budget slow refresh

BoeingFan
Becoming a Leader

Whole home low budget slow refresh

Home Sweet Home!Home Sweet Home!So I'm about to take on a little cottage in the middle of nowhere to be near family, and I'm beside myself with excitement about all the stuff we can do to freshen her up. I've never done any reno stuff before, but a lick of paint is always a great place to start. Bunnings, here I come!

P.S. I'm still trying to work out how to add an image to this post!

Re: Whole home low budget slow refresh

Hi @MitchellMc 

I hope you're well. Things have chugged along a little so I thought I'd provide a snapshot of the outside of the cottage now after it's had one lick of paint. There's still so much to do!

We had the septic system installed a couple of months ago, so the poor old camelia tree was relocated just before winter, and I don't think it took too kindly to it! The garden shed is gone and the lawn has been cleaned up somewhat thanks to an old McCulloch ride on we scored for 700 bucks. 

The roof is going to be done in about a month's time; colourbond iron, guttering and fascia all the way around. No more TV aerial either. Can't wait. I have been very fortunate to have an older build doing the job who only works in hardwood and lets me to a lot of the work with him, so I get to learn stuff as we go. 

Excuse the mess. 

Regards,

Jason

IMG_1260 - Copy.JPGIMG_1261 - Copy.JPG

Re: Whole home low budget slow refresh

It's really coming together now, Jason (@BoeingFan)! Once that roof goes on, it's going to be looking mint. I can't wait to see how that comes up.

Many thanks for sharing your update with us. 

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!

Re: Temporary Dishwasher Install Advice Please

Good morning @KatieC and @MitchellMc ,

Update on the shower screen; the new one with a door is installed and looks superb.