Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Can i fill in an exterior window?

alicemary
Just Starting Out

Can i fill in an exterior window?

Hi all, I’m a newbie looking to embark on a laundry / bathroom reno! Currently our laundry is too big and bathroom is too small and there is a wall dividing them. We are looking to take down / rebuild wall about a metre along increasing size of bathroom. The laundry has a double exterior window and I wonder how easy it is to change size of window eg from double to a single. To do so would allow us a lot more useable wall space!

Grateful for any thoughts! Alice18BD6B58-D07E-49BE-BF68-5A92225A5AD4.jpeg

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Can i fill in an exterior window?

Hello @alicemary

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's terrific to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about your laundry window.

I understand your desire to have more usable wall space. However, modifying an exterior window is quite involved. It will require you to remove your outside cladding, break the tiles, make a new timber frame and reclad and re-tile the whole thing. As for the dividing wall, one of the things you'll need to find out is if it is load-bearing. Once you've confirmed that it's not load-bearing, you'll be able to take it apart and move it without worry. 

In order to get a better idea of what you need to do. I suggest making a list of the things you'll be able to do yourself, and those things that you'll need a tradesperson for. For example, if there is plumbing or electrical fixtures in that wall you'll need a tradesperson to modify that for you. But you're confident you can plaster and tile the new wall. So you can ask the tradesperson to quote you for the plumbing and electrical jobs, the framing and cladding. But you can tell them you'll be tiling it yourself.