Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Cut hole in aluminium outdoor table

DanManc
Getting Established

Cut hole in aluminium outdoor table

Hi I need to cut a hole for my patio umbrella in the middle of my 6 seater aluminium outdoor table.  i need advice on what to use, how to use it and how to minimize any potential destructive methods.  Complete novice!

ProjectPete
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: Cut hole in aluminium outdoor table

You're probably looking for about a 50mm hole, right @DanManc? Grab a holesaw such as this one which is good for metal - there are others by Sutton which are good for aluminium (just ask your helpful Bunnings team member). 

This will be the easiest and cleanest way to cut the hole/circle. Then file the edges with a half-round for a clean and safe finish.

Before you decide on the size you cut - consider the size you need for the umbrella pole but also the sizes of rubber rings/grommets available at Bunnings or Clark Rubber maybe which you can fit into it to prevent the pole banging against the aluminium and scratching your umbrella pole.

----------
Handy and helpful
Instagram @projectpete.diy @at.home.rosehill @kayudesignco @aspirebamboo
ProjectPete
Kind of a Big Deal

I should've mentioned (which may be obvious anyway) to approach it slowly and pick up the drill speed as required. Too slow and it's not going to cut, but too fast and you may lose a bit of control upfront. Once the holesaw bites, you can ease your way through without any real concerns.

----------
Handy and helpful

Thanks Pete.  Yep the pole is 38mm so a 50mm hole sounds about right.  Can you recommend a drill i could buy from Bunnings that would be powerful enough to do the job?  i don't want to spend too much as i'd only be using it rarely.