Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to care for my dying lilly pillies?

tevvo
Finding My Feet

How to care for my dying lilly pillies?

Hi All,

need a but of help with my newly planted Lilly Pilly plants. Im an amateur and very new to plants and gardening. I recently cleared all the landscape in my front yard and planted some lilly pilly plants around the entrance to the driveway. Out of 8 plants 3-4 of them look very droopy and like they are dying. At first i was watering them everyday and i was told thats too much and now i water couple times a week. I dug holes very large holes and used a garden mix soil in the hole before planting. Same process on all plants. Ive been told the ground is clay so not sure if there is an issue draining but not sure why some plants are good and some are not doing well. I have uploaded a good looking plant and a sad one. Thanks in advance for any help

C0590500-B629-4CEF-81DD-20F0E8321775.jpeg

E14FDD32-4AD5-42AE-98ED-83D20AAE8C7C.jpeg

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Lilly Pilly Help

Hello @tevvo 

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's delightful to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about your Lilly Pilly.

It could be any number of reasons from transplant stress, heat stress to poor soil drainage. Looking at the photo you posted it does not seem that the soil is waterlogged. One way to check is to do a soil drain test. Dig a hole approximately 30cm deep x15cm across close to the Lilly Pilly but away from its root ball. Fill the hole with water and observe how long the water drains away.

If the water drains slowly like 30mm every hour, then it is draining adequately. If it does not drain at all then the water is settling under the plant and drowning its roots. Would it be possible for you to post a close-up photo of the bottom leaves. I just want to rule out insect infestation or a fungal infection.