Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Do you need to seal chalk paint on furniture?

Puddin
Building a Reputation

Do you need to seal chalk paint on furniture?

Hello all

I am upcycling a set of drawers and have used chalk paint on cabinet part, do I need to seal it now its painted. Read that it should be sealed with a wax is this right or can it be left just painted. It looks fine so I am unsure.

The projects that I have seen on this site have given me the push I needed to give it a go, this is my first attempt. So thanks to all those that have inspired me.  

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Advice needed on using chalk paint on furniture

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Puddin. It's great to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about applying chalk paint.

It is wonderful to hear you've been inspired by the projects you've seen here.

It would be best to follow the manufacturer's directions on their product. If they're advising to seal the chalk paint with wax, it's likely for a good reason. Dulux chalk effect paint instructions recommend sealing it with their clear top coat, which provides additional protection, especially on surfaces like table tops. Due to chalk effects ultra-matt finishes, they can easily mark and are hard to clean, and the oils on fingertips will leave stains.

If you are happy with the finish, you could leave it un-sealed; you just need to be aware that you'll likely need to touch up spots in the future.

Please let me know if you have further questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!

Morning @Puddin 

We spent a small fortune on Porter's Chalk a few years ago painting furniture and sealing it with their polyurethane product. Now that time has elapsed - we would tackle things differently.

In the end it had a rather poor surface durability.