Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Need help with my dining table plan

akhilsingh
Finding My Feet

Need help with my dining table plan

Hi Guys, 
I am planning to build a dining table. I am very new to wood working and this is my first project ever. I have done some research and have planned building the table as follows.

- I am planning to build the dining table using pine boards and pine shorts from Bunnings. 

akhilsingh_0-1714039460517.jpeg

- The plan is to glue together the wood board to create the table top as shown in picture below. I have an electric planer which I am planning to plane off the gluing surface to have a straight edges.

akhilsingh_1-1714039565829.jpeg

- To create the base and legs for the table I will be using the pine shots as shown below.

akhilsingh_2-1714039888418.jpeg

akhilsingh_3-1714039912216.jpeg

I need advice with the following issues:

- I have some clamps which I am planning to use to glue together the boards, but the clamps are a bit shorter than the gluing length. Is there a way I can still use the clamp without buying new ones? Or if there is an alternative way to join the boards to create the table top?

- Some of the boards are not very straight, below is the side view of the boards side by side, you can see the spacing because of the curved board. I would like to know if this will be problem when gluing the boards together? Will this curve the table top? What is the best way I can handle it? Can I some how straighten the boards.

akhilsingh_4-1714040023530.jpeg

akhilsingh_5-1714040090488.jpeg

- I am planning to use screws to join the bottom frame together, but will need some advice on how I can join the table top with bottom frame. I do not want to glue to top onto the frame, because I would like to dismantle it in future.