Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Which material table top should I use for my standing desk?

durianhead
Finding My Feet

Which material table top should I use for my standing desk?

I'm looking to DIY my own working desk at home. Current plan is to buy an electric motorised leg that will serve as my table's base. The stand I'm looking at can hold 100kg comfortably.

I'm trying to decide what type of table top would go best as a working desk considering:

• Size: min. 1800mm (open to a longer desk but max 2100mm) x 75-90mm (leaning more towards 75mm depth) x no preference on width as long as it doesn't bend
  • Will be writing on a notepad on the table so surface texture should be appropriate

Please note that I am a complete newbie when it comes to DIY homewares but I am very keen to learn. Plus I enjoy the satisfaction of building something myself.

So far what I can tell is there are plenty of options from wood vs non-wood. Then within wood there's hardwood and softwood (pine?). Rubberwood seems affordable, what are the downsides? So many questions.

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Which material table top should I use for my standing desk?

Hello @durianhead

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's marvelous to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about which material should you use for your standing desk.