Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Any advice for building a deck?

dominickumar185
Just Starting Out

Any advice for building a deck?

I want to build a deck for the first time and I need any tips or tricks that could help. it is a simple ground floor deck and its not attached to the house, I've done my research and i am very similar with everything but it is my first time doing it and I would like to know if there is any tips from someone that is more experienced. Anything would be greatly appreciated.

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Any advice for building a deck?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @dominickumar185. We're pleased to have you join us and look forward to seeing your decking project come to life. We're confidence you will get loads of ideas, inspiration and helpful advice from our wonderful members.

If you haven't already seen it, the best place to start is here - How to plan out your deck. You'll notice it is part of a comprehensive seven-part series on How to build a deck.

We also have terrific how-to guides for deck projects here on the Workshop community, including Mitch's How to build a deck, as well as plenty of inspiration such as our Top 10 most popular deck projects and Inspiring low-level deck builds.

I think you will find that broad questions like you have posed first up are difficult for our members to answer as there are so many aspects to building a deck. I would strongly recommend you come back with a clear plan of what you'd like to achieve, some photos of the area and perhaps a sketch of your proposed structure. Once you have more of a idea on what you'd like to achieve, I'm sure our helpful community will be more than happy to assist with any specific questions you have along the way. We're here to help. 

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member