Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to make a pebbles and pavers path?

DIYer2024
Finding My Feet

How to make a pebbles and pavers path?

Hello everyone

I'm very new to DIYing. So I'm seeking advice from this helpful community.

I'd like to add pebbles to the footpath on both sides of my house. The footpath makes up altogether 35sq metres.

My plan is to add pavers with pebbles in between to make the footpath look like the attached picture.

I have also included the images of what the footpath looks like now.

My plan:

1) To get rid of the weed by using Hortico weed & green product.

2) To add crusher's dust to level off the surface as it is slightly slopy as seen on the photos.

3) Add Saxon weed mat on top of crusher's dust for the entirety of the surface.

4) Start putting the pavers (600X300X40mm) that I got from Bunnings at the gap of about 150mm in between.

5) Add pebbles to fill the gaps between the pavers and on the sides.

Does this sound okay?

Have I missed anything?

What size pebbles would be required here to make it look like the attached result?

TIA.

20231222_134751.png

20231221_155002.jpg

20231222_151458.jpg

Jewelleryrescue
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: How to add pebbles and pavers to the footpath properly

Hi @DIYer2024 

ok  your  plan is on the right track. I i can offer experience to fine tune your plans I aim to save you extra work and try keep costs down at the same time give you your desired results.

costing tips 

Each delivery costs approx $80 per delivrery so see if they can deliver crusher dust and pebbles on the same load they usually can with a  board separating the two materials will save you $  . It is better to slightly over estimate materials  quantities than under estimate.

The picture guide you desire is indicating approx  20mm stone size as a guide. 

Add your crusher dust to level no need to tamp it down much as rain will do this fast.