Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to repair metal driveway gate?

Honest52
Cultivating a Following

How to repair metal driveway gate?

Hi experts,

My old metal driveway gate doors are rusty and falling.  The nuts and bolts are falling out and need to be replaced.

I need to buy the two new metal plates about 300 x 100 x 10mm and used to replace two old one to hold the gate flange.

Also, the new bolt and nut for metal flange and brick wall need to be bought too.

I am only a beginner and needs recommendations of exactly the details of material to buy in bunnings.

Would anyone helps?

20230917_090111.jpg20230917_090113.jpg20230917_090117.jpg20230917_090119.jpg20230917_111529.jpg20230917_111549.jpg20230917_111851.jpg20230917_111854.jpg20230917_124848.jpg

Dave-1
Home Improvement Guru

Re: How to repair metal driveway gate?

Good Afternoon @Honest52 

A couple of questions,

Where are the plates 300*100*10 going to go? 

The rest of the gate dosnt look too rusted, or am I missing something? 

Id be replacing that vertical timber post on the left and move it back just a little and installing a vertical timber post on the right behind the chimeny but level with it to attach to the gate. (vertical as you can use multiple contact points to secure the post  to the brickwork and distribute the weight) 

With the surface rust  points I would use a wire brush and buff the rust off then paint with a rust converter before painting the gate again. 

I do like the bucket of sand to keep the gate in place :smile:

Dave

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hello @Honest52 

Thanks for sharing your question about repairing your driveway gate. Looking at the pictures you've posted it seems that the nut and bolt assembly used for your gate have deteriorated.