Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What would you do for this small backyard/ deck?

hughs777
Growing in Experience

What would you do for this small backyard/ deck?

Hi all, 

I am new to renovating outdoors and would like your opinion on my ideals for this small backyard. I am located in Gladesville, Sydney, and this is our first house.

The block is a battleaxe and at the moment this is our car park/ backyard at the rear of the house. We gain access through a right of carriageway that the back owner shares. 

I would like to add the following. Some of this I can do, the others I will get professionals to do! I would like to complete in the following rough order..  The more expensive upgrades will come in time from a cash flow perspective.  

• High pressure hose everywhere (when the water restrictions change) 
  • Clean fence and paint a dark grey with a spray gun and brush
  • Privacy screens and screening plants (Trying to work out a good style) Ideas welcome 
  • Paint the decking directly next to the windows (This will be eventually replaced when the cash flow permits) 
  • Resurface the driveway stenciled concrete (I have to maintain the drainage and storm water flow) > How would you do this? Paint or can I put a nicer stone / paver directly on top of this? I will get a professional to do the paving if it is possible to do it directly on the stenciled concrete??
  • New decking outside the windows and above the bed rock and wrap around the building 
  • New plants and planter boxes/ screening etc (Trying to work out types of plants that are drought resistant etc) 
  • New Windows / sliding doors (eventually) by a company. I am thinking a colour change and either bi-folds or something more modern 
  • If I paint the sides of the house grey, I would like someone to re-clad the old style cladding currently on the extension.