Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Making a wooden planter for succulents

Kim2
Building a Reputation

Making a wooden planter for succulents

Hi peeps, 

I'm completely new to woodworking and in dire need of help! I tried making a wooden planter with 45 degree cut corners and glued it together with Sellys aquadhere -the first one looks okay but the rest of the corners are terrible :tear:

This was made with scap wood I found on the side of the road. I would like to try again with some 12mm thick tasmanian oak I bought from bunnings and coat it with tung oil (apparently it cures the wood and makes it waterproof?)

help.JPG

I want to create something like the planter on the right...any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh and I bought a corner clamp from bunnings but it never clamped the corners properly ... either that or I didnt use it properly?

Please help :grin:

Kim

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Making a wooden planter for succulents

Great project! You've come to the right place @Kim2. I'm sure some of our community members who love woodworking will be able to help, including the likes of @Yorky88, @Wayne, @She_Skills, @AndrewJones, @Brad, @woodalwaysworks, @darylhewston, @LePallet and @Rusty-Saw.

Let me also extend a very big welcome to the Workshop community and a thanks for joining us. It's terrific to have you as our newest member. I'm sure that in addition to getting lots of great advice for this project, you'll find plenty of other useful information and inspiration on the site. Feel free to post anytime you need a hand. And we'd love to see some of your other projects and plans when you get a chance. 

Please let me know if you ever need a hand getting the most from the site.

Thanks again,

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Brad
Kind of a Big Deal

@Kim2is the clamp like this?

Irwin corner

Or this?

irwin old school