Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Newbie DIYer tool recommendations

BandofSaws
Getting Established

Newbie DIYer tool recommendations

Hi there,

As my workshop profile suggests im a relative newbie to home DIY - have some basic experience with wood but am looking to build on it. I've been looking at different tools and brands, i'm not looking to break the bank and see a Riobi set that fits my price, does anyone have any opinions or thoughts that would help shape my choice of brand & choice of tools.

Cheers

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Newbie DIYer tool recommendations

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @BandofSaws. It's fantastic to have you join us, and many thanks for your question on tool recommendations.

The best brand for you is the one you can afford, and that will do the job you need it to. When I was younger, I purchased the cheapest tools I could and made do with them. I accomplished many projects with them, which would have been extremely hard to do by hand. Those were generally of the XU1 brand, and to this day, I'm happy with the choices I made and the value for money I saw. In fact, I bought the XU1 350W Jigsaw only a couple of months ago as I lost a very specific part of my current jigsaw and wasn't going to pay another hundred plus dollars on a new unit. It did the job and several others since then well. My point here being, budget tools get you by and open up a whole world of D.I.Y. projects.