Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Whats the difference between air compressor for spray painting n air tools?

robbie86
Just Starting Out

Whats the difference between air compressor for spray painting n air tools?

What’s the difference between these two full boar air compressor 

A64548A8-6627-47BF-8DD5-31516A216278.png

3365F787-9721-499D-86E1-1DCE9368156E.png

MikeTNZ
Amassing an Audience

Re: Whats the difference between air compressor for spray painting n air tools?

Hi @robbie86,

Welcome to Bunnings Workshop,

I am a qualified electrician that has worked with compressors since I started my apprenticeship, 30 years ago.

If you're going to be either spray painting or using air tools from a compressor, you need the following:

At least 200 Litres of reserve air in the receiver tank.

A compressor that will fill that tank without going out on overload when it will not keep up with the demand at the point of usage.

If this compressor will be high demand, think possibly getting a large 3 phase unit installed, reason I say that is because it will save you a lot of

electricity and a single phase compressor needs to be limited to a certain number of starts per hour, if you go above that, the chance of the

motor driving it and the compressor being damaged, a lot of the smaller compressors just aren't up to the task and a few of them have either

burned out or have gone on fire due to overheating.

You might have to have your submain to your garage upgraded, but if you are going to do stuff like this, you need air capacity from a receiver tank and something to keep that full, constantly.

I hope that this makes some sense, if it doesn't, by all means, drop me a line.

Cheers,

Mike T.

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hello @robbie86